Zadejte e-mail pro zasílání aktualit
Pro registraci Vašeho e-mailu Vám bude zaslán aktivační e-mail. Řiďte se jeho instrukcemi.
Přidat vlastní novinku

Destinační společnost Východní Čechy
Orlické hory a podorlicko
Sdružení obcí Orlicko
Království Orlice

Najdete nás také na:

Putování po historických městech Čech, Moravy a Slezska
The baroque chapel of St. John of Nepomuk is a five-wing with ambits, which looks down on the town from Kopeček. It was built in the years 1734 - 1736 under Jan Václav Breda on the site of the original pilgrimage chapel of St. John. The designer of the structure is not known. The stone for the construction was taken from the ruins of the original castle at the opposite Hradisko. The chapel including its ambits has a five-wing structure according to the five stars above the saint’s head with which St. John is depicted. All five ambits are decorated with spires with cupolas, containing bells. The chapel ceiling was at one time intricately decorated with frescoes by an unknown author, of which only the torso remains. The stations of the cross in the ambits was painted in approximately 1866 by the father of the Umlauf academic painters, Dominik Umlauf.

The structure is a typical example of symbolism in ecclesiastical architecture. It became the theme for several paintings by local painters and attracts tourists from a wide area. Unfortunately at present it is not accessible. It is open to visitors only on special occasions, when they have the opportunity to view the unique pentagonal altar with the legend of St. John of Nepomuk. An alley lined by linden trees from 1734 leads to the chapel. This tree-lined alley, which also provides benches for seating, contains missionary crucifixes which originate from 1626 and were erected during the restoration of Catholicism in Bohemia.

Kulturní centrum Letohrad

Václavské nám. 77

561 51 Letohrad

IČO: 70964891

tel.: 465 622 092


Jaroslav Moravec
tel.: 465 622 255

Dnes je

Svátek má :

Z naší fotogalerie

Zámek Radnice